Levaquin lawsuit filed by Texas woman over nerve damage from antibiotics

by Charles Miller

Janssen Pharmaceuticals and distributor McKesson Corp. are facing a lawsuit filed by a Texas woman who suffered nerve damage after being prescribed the antibiotic drug Levaquin. According to a lawsuit filed in Pennsylvania, Catherine Farmer developed permanent nerve damage after she was prescribed Levaquin during heart surgery treatment in 2006.

Levaquin (levofloxacin) is part of a class of antibiotic drugs known as fluoroquinolones, or FQ antibiotics, which are prescribed to treat serious bacterial infections. Other commonly prescribed FQ antibiotic drugs include Cipro (ciprofloxacin), Avelox (moxifloxacin), Noroxin (norfloxacin), Floxin (ofloxacin), and Factive (gemifloxacin). FQ antibiotics are some of the most frequently prescribed medications in the U.S., with more than 27 million prescriptions written in 2011 alone.

The Food and Drug Administration has warned that patients who are prescribed FQ antibiotics may develop peripheral neuropathy, a type of permanent nerve damage that can cause weakness, numbness, or pain in the extremities. According to the FDA warnings about FQ antibiotics, symptoms of peripheral neuropathy can begin within days after starting treatment with these medications.

Patients who developed peripheral neuropathy after using FQ antibiotic medications such as Levaquin have filed lawsuits against the manufacturers of these drugs. Concerns about the link between fluoroquinolone antibiotics and permanent nerve damage have prompted some health experts and patients to call on the FDA to issue additional warnings about the safety of these medications or to considering issuing a recall on the drug class.

FQ Antibiotics and Peripheral Neuropathy

Patients who have developed symptoms of nerve damage or were diagnosed with peripheral neuropathy after taking Levaquin or other FQ antibiotic medications may be eligible to file a lawsuit. The first step in filing a lawsuit is to talk with a lawyer with the knowledge and years of experience to handle pharmaceutical liability cases involving FQ antibiotics from start to finish.

Far too often, the pharmaceutical industry puts profit ahead of patient interests, disregarding the safety concerns because of the enormous sales that “blockbuster” drugs and medical devices can generate. At Heygood, Orr & Pearson, we believe that when the actions of pharmaceutical companies and medical devices manufacturers jeopardize the safety or health of patients, they should be held accountable for their actions in a court of law. Our lawyers have amassed years of trial experience on behalf of our clients, and will work diligently to ensure that you receive the best possible representation in your case.

Heygood, Orr & Pearson has handled numerous cases involving dangerous drugs or defective medical devices, including cases involving the fentanyl pain patch, Actos, Transvaginal Mesh, Pradaxa/Xarelto, Zofran, and other drugs. In the process, our lawyers have achieved verdicts and settlements on behalf of our clients totaling more than $200 million.

Our firm is AV-rated—the highest legal and ethical rating available—and all our partners Michael Heygood, Jim Orr, and Eric Pearson are all Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Mr. Heygood and Mr. Orr are also Board Certified in Civil Trial Advocacy Law by the National Board of Trial Advocacy. Our partners have been voted by their peers as “Super Lawyers” in the state of Texas for numerous years in a row.*

For more information about filing a lawsuit involving peripheral neuropathy caused by FQ antibiotics, contact the lawyers at Heygood, Orr & Pearson to receive a free legal consultation. You can reach us by calling toll-free at 1-877-446-9001, or by following the link to our free case evaluation form and answering a few simple questions about your situation.


* Michael Heygood, James Craig Orr, Jr. and Eric Pearson were selected to the Super Lawyers List, a Thomson Reuters publication, for the years 2003 through 2015.